top of page

Regional Groups

The CPCE consists of 96 member churches. Many churches have joined together in regional groups in order to strengthen cooperation between the churches and thus enrich the life of the churches.

 

 

Northwest Group

 

The meetings within the framework of the "Leuenberg Northwest Group" go back to an initiative of the late President Peter Beier from the Protestant Church in the Rhineland. The first core of the group was formed in 1990 by the United Evangelical Church in Belgium, the Evangelical Church in the Rhineland and two Reformed and one Lutheran church from the Netherlands.

 

 Over the years, other churches from Germany, Luxembourg, Denmark, Ireland and Scotland joined, so that today fifteen churches from six countries belong to the Northwest Group. Further churches have expressed their interest.

 

Since 1991, two-day conferences have been held annually at various locations in Europe, e.g. in Luxembourg, Doorn (NL), Villigst, Borkum, Altenkirchen, Malmédy (B).  The Protestant Church in the Rhineland is responsible for the management. The group of participants is usually made up of the ecumenical advisors of the individual member churches, but can also vary in terms of the subject matter; members of the church leadership are often also present. The group is comprised of around 25 people. 

The topics of the conferences often take up the content of current CPCE study processes or are determined by the respective topicality for the member churches.  The preparation or follow-up of CPCE General Assemblies has a special place here. In recent years, the CPCE Northwest Group has also focused in particular on the topic of "Church and Democracy" (international conference in Paris in September 2021).

 

Since the Ecumenical Church Congress in Munich in 2010, there has been a written agreement between the CPCE Northwest Group and the CPCE Council. This was extended in 2021.

 

Member churches:

 

Eglise Protestante Unie de Belgique

Protestant Church in the Rhineland

Protestant Church of Kurhessen-Waldeck

Protestant Church of Westphalia

Evangelical Lutheran Church in Oldenburg

Protestant Methodist Church in Germany

Protestant Reformed Church

Lippe Regional Church

Protestant Church of Luxembourg

Protestant Reformed Church of Luxembourg

Protestantse Kerk in Nederland

Remonstrantse Broederschap (NL)

Methodist Church in Ireland

Church of Scotland

Reformed Synod in Denmark

 

 

South East Europe Group

 

In 1975, Bishop Hanselmann wanted to send a signal that the Leuenberg Church Fellowship was not just a document, but was taking shape as a living fellowship of churches. With the signing of the Agreement by Bavaria, he established a regional group that facilitated exchange between the churches across the Iron Curtain. In addition to important theological discussions, which are recorded in the publications of the Leuenberg Church Fellowship, the meeting of the regional group on neutral ground in Gallneukirchen in Austria was one of the few opportunities for many representatives of the churches in the East to stay in contact with their Western brothers and sisters

 

For a long time, it was mainly bishops and church leaders who came to the Gallneukirchen regional group, but now many young theologians are delegated to this body, who naturally also bring the concerns and situations of their churches to the table. With 28 member churches from Switzerland to Russia and from Poland to Italy and Bulgaria, the Southeast Europe regional group is not only the oldest, but also the largest regional group of the CPCE.

Member churches:

 

Evangelical Church of the Augsburg Confession in Romania

Evangelical Lutheran Church in Romania

Evangelical Church of the Czech Brethren

Evangelical Lutheran Church in Italy

Waldensian Evangelical Church

German Evangelical Lutheran Church in Ukraine (member of ELCROS)

Evangelical Church of the Augsburg Confession in Slovenia

Evangelical Church of the Augsburg Confession in Austria

Evangelical Church of the PalatinateProtestant Church of the Helvetic Confession in Austria

Protestant Church of Liechtenstein

Protestant Church in Baden

Evangelical Lutheran Church in Württemberg

Evangelical Lutheran Church in Bavaria

Evangelical Church in Central Germany

Federation of Evangelical Lutheran Churches in Russia and Other States ELCROS

Central Conference of the United Methodist Church of Central and Southern Europe, represented by Austria and Serbia

Evangelical Reformed Church

Evangelical Church of the Augsburg Confession in the Slovak Republic

Reformed Christian Church in Serbia

Reformed Church in Transcarpathia

Evangelical Church of the Augsburg Confession in Poland

Evangelical Lutheran Church in Hungary

Reformed Church in Hungary

Reformed Christian Church in Slovakia

Reformed Church in Romania

Protestant Church in Switzerland

Silesian Evangelical Church of the Augsburg Confession

Slovakian Evangelical Lutheran Church in Serbia

Evangelical Lutheran Church in Georgia and the Southern Caucasus (ELCG)

 

 

 

Conference of Churches on the Rhine

 

Twelve years before the signing of the Leuenberg Agreement, an alliance of churches had formed along the Rhine that practiced ecumenism within Protestantism. After the Second World War, this alliance, the Conference of Churches on the Rhine (CCR), set itself the task of making its contribution to the newly emerging peaceful Europe. The Rhine, for decades and centuries a line of demarcation, was to become a symbol of solidarity and reconciliation in Europe.

 

The CCR held its first meeting in 1961 on the Liebfrauenberg in Alsace/France. There were initially no plans to continue the meeting. However, the discussions and encounters with the sister churches of the neighboring countries proved to be so stimulating and fruitful that such meetings were also planned for the future. From the very beginning, the cross-border work of the churches on the Rhine was the focus of interest. Among other things, the CCR took the initiative at the end of the 1970s to set up an ecumenical secretariat at the European institutions in Strasbourg, which still exists today in various legal constellations.

 

As all member churches of the CCR are also signatory churches of the Leuenberg Agreement, the idea of integrating the CCR institutionally into the CPCE as a regional group has emerged. At the CCR conference in May 2008, this process was concluded with the signing of an agreement to become a regional group.

 

Member churches:

 

Reformed Church in Aargau

Protestant Church of Baden

Protestant Reformed Church of Basel (Outskirts)

Protestant Reformed Church of Basel City

Evangelical Lutheran Church in Alsace and Lorraine

Protestant Reformed Church in Alsace and Lorraine

Protestant Church in Hesse and Nassau

Protestant Church in the Principality of Liechtenstein

Protestant Church of the Helvetic Confession in Austria

Protestant Church of the Palatinate

Protestant Church in the Rhineland

Protestant Reformed Church in Schaffhausen

Protestant Reformed Church of St. Gallen

Evangelical Lutheran Church in Württemberg

 

Conference of Protestant Churches in the Latin countries of Europe CEPPLE

 

 

1950 - Foundation of the World Council of Churches. Solidarity between the churches, concern about the precarious situation of Protestants in Italy and the obstruction of religious freedom for Protestant churches in Spain and Portugal, while the UN was adopting the Universal Declaration of Human Rights. CEPPLE was born out of this concern.

 

Over time, the feeling developed that, in their fragility, the so-called minority churches carried a word of the future for others. Gradually, a network of relationships and exchange developed between churches that are confronted with similar challenges in different contexts.

 

In 2014, CEPPLE became the fourth regional group of CPCE at the General Assembly in Malaga. Since then, CEPPLE's activities have been formalized around four key areas: catechetical exchange - theological training - the role of churches in the South in the face of migration - reflection and pooling of resources in the area of the churches' presence in the media.

 

Member churches:

 

United Protestant Church of Belgium

Spanish Protestant Church

United Protestant Church of France

National Union of Evangelical Reformed Protestant Churches of France

Federation of Protestant Baptist Churches in France

Waldensian Church of Italy

Methodist Church of Italy

Evangelical Baptist Christian Union of Italy

Evangelical Presbyterian Church in Portugal

Evangelical Methodist Church in Portugal

Catholic Apostolic Evangelical Church of Lusitania

Protestant Reformed Church of the Canton of Waadt

Protestant Reformed Church of the Canton of Fribourg

Protestant Reformed Church of the Canton of Valais

Protestant Reformed Church of the Canton of Graubünden

close.png

Back to Media Package

bottom of page

top of page

Regionalgruppe

Die GEKE besteht aus 95 Mitgliedskirchen. Viele Kirchen haben sich in regionalen Gruppen zusammengeschlossen, um die Zusammenarbeit zwischen den Kirchen zu stärken und so das Leben der Kirchen zu bereichern.

 

Nordwest-Gruppe

Die Treffen im Rahmen der „Gruppe Leuenberg Nordwest“ gehen auf eine Initiative des verstorbenen Präses Peter Beier aus der Evangelischen Kirche im Rheinland zurück. Den ersten Kern der Gruppe bildeten im Jahre 1990 die Vereinigte Evangelische Kirche in Belgien, die Evangelische Kirche im Rheinland und zwei reformierte und eine lutherische Kirche aus den Niederlanden.

Im Laufe der Jahre schlossen sich weitere Kirchen aus Deutschland, Luxemburg, Dänemark, Irland und Schottland an, so dass heute fünfzehn Kirchen aus sechs Ländern zur Nordwestgruppe gehören. Weitere Kirchen haben ihr Interesse bekundet.

Seit 1991 finden jährlich in der Regel zweitägige Tagungen an verschiedenen Orten in Europa statt, z.B. in Luxemburg, Doorn (NL), Villigst, Borkum, Altenkirchen, Malmédy (B).  Die Geschäftsführung liegt bei der Evangelischen Kirche im Rheinland. Der Teilnehmerkreis setzt sich zumeist aus den Referentinnen und Referenten für Ökumene der einzelnen Mitgliedskirchen zusammen, kann aber in Bezug auf die Thematik auch variieren, häufig sind auch Mitglieder der Kirchenleitungen dabei. Die Gruppe umfasst rund 25 Personen.  

Die Themen der Tagungen greifen oft die Inhalte aktueller Studienprozesse der GEKE auf oder bestimmen sich nach der jeweiligen Aktualität für die Mitgliedskirchen. Die Vorbereitung oder Nachbereitung der Vollversammlungen der GEKE hat dabei einen besonderen Platz. Die GEKE-Nordwestgruppe hat sich darüber hinaus in den letzten Jahren besonders mit dem Thema „Kirche und Demokratie“ befasst (Internationale Tagung im September 2021 in Paris).

Seit dem Ökumenischen Kirchentag in München 2010 existiert eine schriftliche Vereinbarung zwischen der GEKE-Nordwestgruppe und dem Rat der GEKE. Diese wurde 2021 verlängert.

Mitgliedskirchen:

Eglise Protestante Unie de Belgique
Evangelische Kirche im Rheinland
Evangelische Kirche von Kurhessen-Waldeck
Evangelische Kirche von Westfalen
Evangelisch-lutherische Kirche in Oldenburg
Evangelisch-methodistische Kirche in Deutschland 
Evangelisch-reformierte Kirche
Lippische Landeskirche
Evangelische Kirche von Luxemburg
Protestantisch-reformierte Kirche von Luxemburg
Protestantse Kerk in Nederland
Remonstrantse Broederschap (NL)
Methodist Church in Ireland
Church of Scotland
Reformierte Synode in Dänemark

Südosteuropa-Gruppe

1975 wollte Bischof Hanselmann ein Zeichen setzen, dass die Leuenberger Kirchengemeinschaft nicht nur ein Dokument bleibt, sondern als lebendige Gemeinschaft von Kirchen Gestalt annimmt. Mit der Unterzeichnung der Konkordie durch Bayern rief er eine Regionalgruppe ins Leben, die den Austausch zwischen den Kirchen über den Eisernen Vorhang hinweg ermöglichte. Neben wichtigen theologischen Gesprächen, die in den Publikationen der Leuenberger Kirchengemeinschaft festgehalten sind, war das Treffen der Regionalgruppe auf neutralem Boden in Gallneukirchen in Österreich für viele Vertreter der Kirchen im Osten eine der wenigen Möglichkeiten, mit ihren westlichen Brüdern und Schwestern in Kontakt zu bleiben

Waren es lange Zeit vor allem Bischöfe und Kirchenleitungen, die in die Regionalgruppe Gallneukirchen kamen, so sind jetzt viele junge Theologinnen und Theologen in dieses Gremium delegiert, die natürlich auch die Anliegen und Situationen ihrer Kirchen einbringen. Mit 28 Mitgliedskirchen von der Schweiz bis Russland und von Polen bis Italien und Bulgarien ist die Regionalgruppe Südosteuropa nicht nur die älteste, sondern auch die größte Regionalgruppe der GEKE.

Mitgliedskirchen:

Evangelische Kirche Augsburgischen Bekenntnisses in Rumänien
Evangelisch-Lutherische Kirche in Rumänien
Evangelische Kirche der Böhmischen Brüder
Evangelisch-Lutherische Kirche in Italien
Waldensische Evangelische Kirche
Deutsche Evangelisch-Lutherische Kirche in der Ukraine (Mitglied von ELCROS)
Evangelische Kirche Augsburgischen Bekenntnisses in Slowenien
Evangelische Kirche Augsburgischen Bekenntnisses in Österreich
Evangelische Kirche der Pfalz
Evangelische Kirche Helvetischen Bekenntnisses in Österreich
Evangelische Kirche von Liechtenstein
Evangelische Kirche in Baden
Evangelisch-Lutherische Landeskirche in Württemberg
Evangelisch-Lutherische Kirche in Bayern
Evangelische Kirche in Mitteldeutschland
Bund der Evangelisch-Lutherischen Kirchen in Russland und anderen Staaten ELCROS
Zentralkonferenz der Vereinigten Methodistischen Kirche von Mittel- und Südeuropa, vertreten durch Österreich und Serbien
Evangelisch-reformierte Kirche
Evangelische Kirche Augsburgischen Bekenntnisses in der Slowakischen Republik
Reformierte Christliche Kirche in Serbien
Reformierte Kirche in den Unterkarpaten
Evangelische Kirche Augsburgischen Bekenntnisses in Polen
Evangelisch-Lutherische Kirche in Ungarn
Reformierte Kirche in Ungarn
Reformierte Christliche Kirche in der Slowakei
Reformierte Kirche in Rumänien
Evangelische Kirche in der Schweiz
Schlesische Evangelische Kirche Augsburgischen Bekenntnisses
Slowakische Evangelisch-Lutherische Kirche in Serbien

Konferenz der Kirchen am Rhein

Zwölf Jahre vor der Unterzeichnung der Leuenberger Konkordie hatte sich entlang des Rheins ein Kirchenbündnis gebildet, das eine Ökumene innerhalb des Protestantismus praktizierte. Nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg machte es sich dieses Bündnis, die Konferenz der Kirchen am Rhein (KKR), zur Aufgabe, seinen Beitrag zu dem neu entstehenden friedlichen Europa zu leisten. Der Rhein, jahrzehntelang und jahrhundertelang eine Demarkationslinie, sollte zum Symbol der Solidarität und Versöhnung in Europa werden.

Zu seinem ersten Treffen kam der KKR 1961 auf dem Liebfrauenberg im Elsass/Frankreich zusammen. Eine Fortsetzung des Treffens war zunächst nicht vorgesehen. Doch die Gespräche und Begegnungen mit den Schwesterkirchen der Nachbarländer erwiesen sich als so anregend und fruchtbar, dass solche Treffen auch für die Zukunft geplant wurden. Von Anfang an stand die grenzüberschreitende Arbeit der Kirchen am Rhein im Mittelpunkt des Interesses. Unter anderem ergriff die KKR bereits Ende der 70er Jahre die Initiative zur Einrichtung eines ökumenischen Sekretariats bei den europäischen Institutionen in Straßburg, das bis heute in unterschiedlichen Rechtskonstellationen besteht.

Da alle Mitgliedskirchen der KKR ebenfalls Unterzeichnerkirchen der Leuenberger Konkordie sind, hat sich die Idee herausgebildet, die KKR auch institutionell als Regionalgruppe in die GEKE einzubinden. An der Konferenz der KKR im Mai 2008 wurde dieser Prozess mit der Unterzeichnung einer Vereinbarung zur Aufnahme als Regionalgruppe abgeschlossen.

Mitgliedskirchen:

Reformierte Kirche im Aargau
Evangelische Landeskirche Baden
Evangelisch-reformierte Kirche Baselland
Evangelisch-reformierte Kirche Basel Stadt
Evangelisch-Lutherische Kirche im Elsass und in Lothringen
Evangelisch-reformierte Kirche im Elsass und in Lothringen
Evangelische Kirche in Hessen und Nassau
Evangelische Kirche im Fürstentum Liechtenstein
Evangelische Kirche Helvetischen Bekenntnisses in Österreich
Evangelische Kirche der Pfalz
Evangelische Kirche im Rheinland
Evangelisch-reformierte Kirche in Schaffhausen
Evangelisch-reformierte Kirche St. Gallen
Evangelisch-Lutherische Kirche in Württemberg

 

Konferenz der protestantischen Kirchen in den lateinischen Ländern Europas CEPPLE.

1950 - Gründung des Ökumenischen Rates der Kirchen. Solidarität zwischen den Kirchen, Besorgnis über die prekäre Lage der Protestanten in Italien und die Behinderung der Religionsfreiheit der protestantischen Kirchen in Spanien und Portugal, während die UNO gerade die Allgemeine Erklärung der Menschenrechte verabschiedet. Die CEPPLE entstand aus dieser Sorge heraus.

Mit der Zeit entwickelt sich das Gefühl, dass in ihrer Zerbrechlichkeit die sogenannten Minderheitskirchen für andere ein Wort der Zukunft tragen. Nach und nach entstand ein Netz von Beziehungen und Austausch zwischen Kirchen die in unterschiedlichen Kontexten mit vergleichbaren Herausforderungen konfrontiert sind.

2014 wurde die CEPPLE auf der Vollversammlung in Malaga zur vierten Regionalgruppe der GEKE. Seitdem formalisieren sich die Aktivitäten der CEPPLE um vier Schwerpunkte: katechetischer Austausch - theologische Ausbildung - die Rolle der Kirchen im Süden angesichts der Migration - Reflexion und Zusammenlegung von Ressourcen im Bereich der Präsenz der Kirchen in den Medien.

Mitgliedskirchen:

Vereinigte Protestantische Kirche von Belgien
Spanische Evangelische Kirche
Vereinigte Protestantische Kirche von Frankreich
Nationale Union der evangelisch-reformierten protestantischen Kirchen Frankreichs
Föderation der evangelischen Baptistenkirchen in Frankreich
Waldenserkirche von Italien
Methodistische Kirche von Italien
Evangelisch-Baptistische Christenunion von Italien
Evangelisch-Presbyterianische Kirche in Portugal
Evangelisch-methodistische Kirche in Portugal
Katholische Apostolische Evangelische Kirche Lusitaniens
Evangelisch-reformierte Kirche des Kantons Waadt
Protestantische Kirche von Genf
Evangelisch-reformierte Kirche von Neuenburg
Synodalverband Bern-Jura
Evangelisch-reformierte Kirche des Kantons Freiburg
Evangelisch-reformierte Kirche des Kantons Wallis
Evangelisch-reformierte Kirche des Kantons Graubünden

close.png

Zurück zu Medienpacked

bottom of page